Title holders should note new banking and invoicing details as of 1 April 2017 due to the transition of the Division of Resources and Energy to the Department of Planning and Environment. Click here for more External link.

All mining and petroleum projects and most exploration activities require environmental assessment under the Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979 (EP&A Act) before they can start.

For most large projects, the proponent must submit an application for development consent with the Department of Planning & Infrastructure and prepare an Environmental Impact Statement (EIS).

For further information
Environmental Sustainability Unit
+61 (0)2 4931 6590
+61 (0)2 4931 6790 (attn: Environmental Sustainability Unit)
Environmental Sustainability Unit, NSW Department of Planning and Environment, Division of Resources and Geoscience, PO Box 344 Hunter Region Mail Centre NSW 2310
516 High Street Maitland NSW 2320 Map