Electricity in NSW is generated from a wide range of fuel sources, including black coal, natural gas, coal seam methane gas and renewable energy sources such as hydro, wind, biomass and solar.

NSW has around 18,000 megawatts (MW) of installed electricity generation capacity. Interconnectors with Queensland and Victoria provide additional capacity of about 1,100 MW and 1,500 MW respectively.

The tables below provide a list of major existing, under construction and proposed NSW power stations larger than 30 MW of installed capacity. A full list of current NSW generators registered with the Australian Energy Market Operator (AEMO) can be found on the AEMO website. There is a further 19,000 MW of power plant proposals (including over 8,000 MW from renewable sources) at various stages of development from concept to construction.

In NSW, proposals to build new power stations are assessed under the Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979. Projects already being assessed prior to the repeal of Part 3A will continue to be assessed under Part 3A. No project applications were accepted between the repeal of Part 3A and 1 October 2011.

On 1 October 2011 a new assessment system for projects of State significance commenced in New South Wales with the commencement of the Environmental Planning and Assessment Amendment (Part 3A Repeal) Act 2011 and the State and Regional Development - State Environmental Planning Policy (PDF icon 1.4 mb).

New power stations are subject to a transparent and public assessment process to ensure protection of the environment and the health and amenity of local communities.

The environmental assessment process for electricity generation projects is the same as for any other major project. This process requires a full and thorough environmental assessment by the Director-General of the Department of Planning with particular emphasis given to ensuring approved proposals proceed in an environmentally appropriate and sustainable manner.

The AEMO also releases an annual report, the Electricity Statement of Opportunities, outlining the supply and demand balance for each region of the National Electricity Market.

AEMO's latest findings are based on new information regarding supply and demand in the dynamic electricity market - a market which is constantly changing in response to factors such as the state of the economy, Federal Government environmental policies, new business investment, new homes being built and energy efficiency measures.

The report shows that NSW has been prudent in its planning for the state's future electricity needs and that we have enough time to ensure that we've got the right amount of capacity when we need it.

Details of proposed generation plants can be found on the Department of Planning's Major Projects Register

Major existing NSW power stations

Power stationLocationOwnerTechnologyCapacity
Appin MineIllawarraEDL GroupCSM56 MW
BayswaterHunterAGL MacquarieSteam/Coal2720 MW
BloweringSnowySnowy HydroHydro80 MW
BroadwaterNorth CoastDelta ElectricityBaGasse30 MW
Capital Wind FarmTaragoRenewable Power VenturesWind141 MW
CondongNorth CoastDelta ElectricityBaGasse30 MW
ColongraCentral CoastDelta ElectricityOCGT668 MW
CullerinUpper LachlanOrigin EnergyWind30 MW
EraringLower HunterOrigin EnergySteam/Coal2880 MW
Gunning Wind FarmWalwaAcciona EnergyWind47 MW
GuthegaSnowySnowy HydroHydro60 MW
Hunter Valley GTHunterAGL MacquarieOCGT50 MW
LiddellHunterAGL MacquarieSteam/Coal2080 MW
Mount PiperCentral WestEnergyAustraliaSteam/Coal1400 MW
MunmorahCentral CoastDelta ElectricitySteam/Coal600 MW
Murray*SnowySnowy HydroHydro1500 MW
RedbankHunterRedbank ProjectCoal Tailings145 MW
ShoalhavenNowraOrigin EnergyHydro240 MW
SmithfieldSmithfieldMarubeniGas Cogen160 MW
TallawarraWollongongEnergyAustraliaCCGT****435 MW
Tower MineIllawarraEDL GroupCSM**41 MW
TumutSnowySnowy HydroHydro2116 MW
UranquintyWagga WaggaOrigin EnergyOCGT***648 MW
Vales PointCentral CoastDelta ElectricitySteam/Coal1320 MW
WallerawangCentral WestEnergyAustraliaSteam/Coal1000 MW
Woodlawn Wind FarmTaragoWoodlawn Wind Pty LtdWind48 MW

* in Victorian region of the NEM
** CSM Coal Seam Methane
*** OCGT Open Cycle Gas Turbine
**** CCGT Combined Cycle Gas Turbine

Projects with development approval

Power stationLocationOwnerTechnologyCapacity
Bamarang Stage 1NowraInfratilOCGT400 MW
Bamarang Stage 2NowraInfratilconversion to CCGTBase load
Bayswater BBayswater Power StationMacquarie GenerationCCGT or Ultra-supercritical Coal2000 MW
BlueScope Cogeneration PlantPort Kembla SteelworksBlueScopeCogeneration225 MW
Boco Rock (114 MW under construction)MonaroWind Prospect CWPWind270 MW
Bodangora Wind FarmWellingtonBodangora Wind Farm Pty LtdWind60-110 MW
Broken Hill Solar Farm (under construction)Broken HillAGL Energy LtdPhotovoltaic53 MW
Capital Solar FarmTaragoInfigen SuntechSolar50 MW
Capital II Wind FarmTaragoCapital II WindWind60-80 MW
Conroy's Gap Wind FarmYassEpuronWind30 MW
Crookwell II (under construction)Southern HighlandsUnion FenosaWind92 MW
Dalton Power ProjectDaltonAGL EnergyGas1000 MW
Flyers CreekOrangeInfigen EnergyWind80-132 MW
Glen InnesGlen InnesBabcock & Brown / National PowerWind81 MW
Gloucester Gas ProjectGloucesterAGL EnergyCSM15 MW
Gullen Range (165.5 MW under construction)GoulburnEpuron subsidiaryWind241 MW
Kyoto Energy ParkUpper HunterPamadaWind
102 MW
10 MW
1 MW
Leafs GullyAppinAGLGas360 MW
Manildra Solar FarmManildraInfigen SuntechSolar50 MW
MarulanMarulanEnergyAustraliaOCGT/CCGT450 MW
MarulanMarulanEnergyAustraliaOCGT350 MW
Moree BP Solar FarmMoreeBP SolarSolar150 MW
Moree Solar FarmMoreeFRV  Solar60 MW
Mount Piper Power Station ExtensionMount Piper Power StationEnergyAustraliaCCGT or Ultra-supercritical Coal2000 MW
Munmorah Power Station RehabilitationMunmorah Power StationDelta ElectricityCoal and/or Gas700 MW[1]
Nyngan Solar Plant (under construction)NynganAGLSolar106 MW
Nyngan Solar FarmNynganInfigen SuntechSolar100 MW
Richmond ValleyCasinoMetGascoCSM30 MW
Royalla Solar Farm (under construction) ACTFRV Royalla Solar Farm Pty LtdPV20 MW
Sapphire Wind FarmGlen Innes/InverellWind Prospect CWPWind319 MW
Silverton Wind FarmBroken HillEpuronWind1000 MW
Tallawarra Stage BWollongongEnergyAustraliaGas300-450 MW
Taralga Wind Farm (under construction)TaralgaCBD Energy/Banco SantanderWind107 MW
TomagoNewcastleMacquarie GenerationOCGT/CCGT790 MW
WellingtonWellingtonNewGen PowerOCGT600 MW
White Rock Wind FarmGlen InnesEpuronWind120-340 MW
Wilga Park Power Station B (6 MW under construction)NarrabriSantosCSM29 MW

Projects in the planning system

Power stationLocationOwnerTechnologyCapacity
Bango Wind FarmYass/BoorowaWind Prospect CWPWind340 MW
Biala Wind FarmCrookwellNewtricityWind160 MW
Collector Wind FarmCollectorTransfield ServicesWind120-160 MW
Crookwell 3Southern HighlandsUnion FenosaWind45-116 MW
Crudine Ridge Wind FarmBathurstCrudine Ridge Wind Farm Pty LtdWind105-374 MW
Eastern Creek Energy from Waste FacilityEastern Creek  Next GenerationBioenergy140 MW
Griffith Solar FarmGriffithNeoen Australia Pty LtdSolar30 MW
Jemalong Solar StationForbesVast Solar Pty LtdSolar30 MW
Jupiter Wind FarmTaragoEPYC Pty LtdWind250 MW
Liverpool Range Wind FarmNew England TablelandsEpuronWind1800 MW
Narrabri WestIngelgreenPower Partners GenerationBiogas55 MW
Paling Yards Wind FarmOberon/ GoulburnUnion FenosaWind100-180 MW
Rugby Wind FarmYassSuzlon Energy and Wind Lab DevelopmentsWind290 MW
Rye Park Wind FarmYassEpuronWind120-378 MW
Uungula Wind farmWellingtonWind Prospect CWPWind800 MW
Woolbrook Wind FarmTamworthNewtricityWind80 MW
YassYassEpuronWind380 MW